top of page
arnoldkwong7

Post 15 - It's Just Us

Updated: May 26, 2021


In our last post, the media attention on the breach intensified, and the CEO gave the CIO and the HR VP another reminder of how important this search was.


The CIO met the HR VP at her office at 7:45 am the next morning. He brought doughnuts and coffee and sat down to talk about the call and the search.


The CIO said “The CEO’s call was clear and direct yesterday. I don’t know what else she’s told you, but it was clear we need results very fast or else.”


The HR VP nodded. After finishing her sip of coffee, she said

“The last time she made a call like this, we lost three people in IT. She was straight-up unpleasant with me. I’ve asked Helen to supplement our internal recruiter’s efforts. There only so much I can do. The General Counsel got back to me with comments about your draft, but it’s not approved yet.”


The CIO persisted.


“My one-on-one with the CEO is tomorrow. I’ll need an update before then since that’ll be the first question she asks. I have to get with the CFO today about your salary range question. I know it’s more than what your survey results showed. Those talents are in demand.”


The HR VP looked down at her plate and carefully mopped gooey chocolate frosting up with a piece of an old fashioned donut, then, before taking a bite, said,


“Helen or I will get back to you before your one-on-one.”


Donuts, Coffee and emphatic words were enough to get attention, but were they enough to get fast action?


Next up – The hunt for the purple squirrel begins

Recent Posts

See All

Enough is Enough - Local Training

If you cannot explain something in simple terms, you don't understand it. The best way to learn is to teach. - Richard Feynman The final...

Enough is Enough - Training

“Every enterprise is a learning and teaching institution. Training and development must be built into it on all levels, training and...

Comments


bottom of page