top of page
Eliot Axelrod

Post 4. Do we stay or do we grow now? (Stay, Go, Defer)

Updated: Aug 16, 2023


The entrepreneur reviewed the plans with Adam and Sharon. Cutting costs wasn’t going to scale the company.


Jim met the team online after hours. Adam and Sharon looked visibly tired. He thanked them for their work. Jim sensed that his virtual team needed a pep talk.


Jim said, “I’ve been pretty upfront about needs to get more cash, and we’ve come a long way. The original product is great, and the new products are beginning to sell well. Our sales and marketing outreach is working. We need to make the business pay for itself.”


Adam replied “I’m committed to the project, but I know we need to make money”


Sharon said “Frankly, I’m stretched thin. My job is getting more demanding. I’m going to stay involved through early spring, but I’ll have to reassess things then.”


Jim thanked the team. Adam was committed. Sharon was going to defer a decision, but the clock was ticking. After the call, he thought that he needed to get external funds if he wanted to keep the team intact.

Jim’s Choice: Defer

Sharon’s Choice: Defer

Adam’s Choice: Commit




Recent Posts

See All

Entrepreneur's Journey - Post 1

Post 1 - The Idea and a Start — Product Transforming your Business – A story about surviving and growing A few years ago, Jim, an...

Comments


bottom of page